PharmD Info

A forum for Indian Pharmacy Professionals

Share any Pharmaceutical related news with appropriate reference. Latest Pharmaceutical News, Indian Pharma News,
  • User avatar
The Tamil Nadu Pharmaceutical Sciences Welfare Trust (TNPSWT) has selected 22 final year students of M Pharm and 12 students of Pharm D from different pharmacy colleges in the state for this year’s Pharmaceutical Sciences Scholarship Awards.

The awards were instituted by the TNPSWT and are being given to selected students for their on-going project work. Office-bearers in the Trust said this is the 19th year of the award ceremony. Students of Pharm D were included in award project from 2013.

The awards and certificates were given away by Dr Geethalekshmi, Vice-Chancellor of The Dr MGR Medical University, Chennai in a seminar recently.

“We receive applications with synopses of project from M. Pharm students and send them to an academic expert outside the state of Tamil Nadu for evaluation. Based on the report we make cash awards for the first, second and third ranks. From 2013 we included Pharm D also – Clinical Pharmacy and Pharmacy Practice - separately for evaluation. This is the 19th year of this project and we have received 144 applications from 7 different branches, 6 M.Pharm and 1 Pharm D, from 18 institutions. Based on the ranking, 22 students have been selected for award for scholarship”, said N Sreenivasan, general secretary of the Trust.

From this year onwards, each branch of the pharmaceutical sciences is given three scholarships with first, second and third ranks, and a consolation award of Rs 7,000. The first rank carries Rs.12,000, second rank Rs.10,000 and third rank Rs.8,000. Pharmaceutics, pharmaceutical chemistry, pharmaceutical analysis, pharmacology, pharmacognosy and pharmacy practice are the branches in which scholarships are awarded.

The first rank for Pharm D will carry Rs 15,000, second rank will carry Rs 12,000 and Rs 10,000 for the third. Awards are given for Pharm D - Clinical Practice.

Tamal Kusum Das of JSS College of Pharmacy, Ootacumund has won the first rank of scholarship for the branch, Pharmaceutics. M.Raja from SRIMPS in Coimbatore has won the second rank. The third rank holder is Subharaj Saha of JSS College of Pharmacy in Oottacumund. In Pharmaceutical Chemistry, the first prize winner is K.Shiva Kumar from Madras Medical College, Chennai. The second and third ranks have also gone to the same college. A. Menaka got the second rank and Madhuraj bagged the third rank. Samrat Debnath from JSS College of Pharmacy is the first rank holder for Pharmaceutical Analysis and S.T. Narenderan from the same college ranked second. Birendra Kumar from Vinayaka Mission College of Pharmacy, Salem bagged the third rank.

In Pharmacology, the first rank goes to A. Balasachidanandam of PSG College of Pharmacy, Coimbatore and P. Percial of Madras Medical College, Chennai has been selected for the second rank. A. Vijaya Ragavan of PSG College of Pharmacy, Coimbatore is the third winner.

D. Balaji from Mother Theresa P G Research Institute, Puducherry got the consolation prize of Rs 7000. M. Geethanjali and S. Albee from Madurai Medical College, Madurai have bagged the first and second prizes respectively in Pharmacognocy. S. Shanmuga Priya from Madras Medical College, Chennai is the third winner. Titto P Jacob and Jesni K Jose from College of Pharmcy, SRIPMS, Coimbatore have been awarded the first and second ranks respectively in the branch of Pharmacy Practice. Hesly Rajan of Swamy Vivekananda College of Pharmacy, Tiruchengode has bagged the third rank.

In Pharm D level, in Clinical Pharmacy branch Debi Ann Abraham, M. Divya Krupa, A.R. Galileo and S. Janani from Sri Ramachandra University, Chennai were selected for the first place. Christy Mary Varghese, Divia Mathews, Dona Kurian and A.Fremil Jose from SRIPMS in Coimbatore got the second rank and Anu Joy Thomas, Anu Maria Jose,. Liz Mathew and.Manju Rosy Jose from JSS College of Pharmacy came in the third position.
Similar Topics
Topics Statistics Last post
2 Replies 
by Krishna K
04 Jul 2018, 10:45
0 Replies 
by Admin
17 Dec 2017, 11:39
0 Replies 
by Prajith
07 Dec 2015, 10:14
0 Replies 
by Prajith
01 Jan 2016, 12:45
30 PharmD students graduate
by Prajith  - 24 Aug 2016, 11:19  - In: Pharm D Forums
0 Replies 
by Prajith
24 Aug 2016, 11:19

Medical editors are proactive member of the medica[…]

Dear all, NGSM Institute of Pharmaceutical Scienc[…]

It is a blessing to be a mother. The biggest happi[…]

Online Databases That A Medical Writer Can Rely Up[…]

E-Learn Portal